Gov. Deal declares state of emergency ahead of winter storm – WBRC FOX6 News


Gov. Nathan Deal says 79 counties in Georgia will be under a state of emergency at noon Friday ahead of our expected winter storm. The state of emergency includes all of metro Atlanta. 

MORE: Snow likely in metro Atlanta

“I am issuing this executive order to implement protective measures to ensure the public health, preserve the safety of the public, keep property damage to a minimum and to minimize the social and economic impacts of this event on the citizens of Georgia,” said Deal. “We will continue monitoring the forecast models and make appropriate adjustments as necessary. Georgians should stay calm, make the appropriate preparations and stay aware of a potential change in weather conditions.”

Deal says state government officers will remain open on Friday.

The 79 counties include Baldwin, Banks, Barrow, Bartow, Bibb, Butts, Carroll,

Read more at: